Senior Prefect Investiture Ceremony 2019

By Student Reporter Kiran S 12C

The Prefects’ Investiture Ceremony for the academic year 2019-2020, was held on Tuesday, 14th May, 2019. The solemn ceremony was witness to the felicitation of young leaders hand-picked by the staff and students to lead the student community.

The event was graced by the presence of an august gathering, which included members of the Senior Management Team, senior students, alumni, and parents. After the national anthems and a recitation of a verse from the Holy Quran, the investiture ceremony commenced.

Ahsan Nayaz was selected to be the Head Boy of the year while Ayan Kazi was appointed to the post of Assistant Head Boy. Aryan Krishnan took over as the President of the Student Council while Farzeen Ajmal is the Secretary of the Student Council. Sharavan Sankaranarayanan and Sanjiv Kannappan were sworn in as Sports Captain and Assistant Sports Captain of the school respectively.

Soon afterwards, the captains and vice captains of the four houses took the oath of office.

The posts of Captain and Vice-Captain of Jupiter house were given to Georgy Saiju John and and Hasan Faraz respectively.

Vyshak Achary was sworn in as Captain of Mars house and Akhil Noushad was invested with the rank of Vice-Captain of Mars house.

Manav Prakash took over as Captain of Neptune house while Aditya Radhakrishnan was appointed Vice-Captain.

The posts of Captain and Vice-Captain of Saturn house were awarded to Sahil Aneez and Joel Jiji respectively.

Subsequently, the 15 prefects of each house took the oath of office and badges were pinned onto them, following which, the 35 members of the Student Council were sworn in.

As the event drew to a close, the Principal and CEO, Mr. Srivalsan Murugan, addressed the gathering on the topic of leadership. The podium was then handed over to the newly invested student leaders. Ahsan Nayaz, the Head Boy, spoke about his enriching experience in school that shaped his destiny as leader of the Prefectorial board. Shravan Sanakaranarayanan, the Sports Captain, addressed the newly invested leaders. Aryan Krishnan, President of the Student Council, delivered the vote of thanks.

After the school song, the audience witnessed a grand retreat by the prefectorial board and applauded in unison, at which point, the event was officially concluded.

Parents, teachers and members of the Senior Management Team then went on to personally congratulate the student leaders outside the Sheikh Zayed Multipurpose Hall.